PG Programs Duration To Be Limited To 1 Year For FYUP Graduates

PG programs duration to be limited to 1 Year for FYUP Graduates

New Delhi: Students enrolled in the four-year undergraduate programme (FYUP) will have the opportunity to complete their post-graduation (PG) studies in just one year, as numerous universities across the nation are gearing up to launch the one-year PG programme starting in 2024.

The University Grants Commission (UGC) has outlined that the implementation of a one-year PG programme is slated for 2024, exclusively for FYUP graduates. Importantly, participating in the one-year PG programme will be optional, and students will retain the choice to enroll in traditional two-year PG courses if they prefer.

The UGC has specified that individuals who have concluded or are currently pursuing a three-year undergraduate course will not be eligible for the one-year post-graduation programme. They will continue to follow the conventional route of enrolling in the established two-year PG programmes.

Under the FYUP, students will be conferred an honors degree in their chosen discipline, accentuating the emphasis on research.

Presently, FYUP is operational in approximately 150 universities nationwide, and the UGC anticipates the inclusion of more than 300 universities in the upcoming session.

The UGC has highlighted a particular focus on research within the two-year PG course, emphasizing the removal of constraints on subjects in PG courses. This alteration aligns with the guidelines of the National Education Policy 2020.

Recently, the UGC unveiled a novel draft and credit framework for PG programmes, announcing the introduction of a one-year master’s degree programme in 2024. This one-year programme will be accessible to graduates after four years of completing their undergraduate studies.

The UGC reports that initially, 105 universities across the country adopted the FYUP. These included 19 central universities, 24 state-level universities, 44 deemed universities, and 18 private universities. Notable institutions in this list are Delhi University, Aligarh Muslim University, Jammu Central University, Visva Bharati University, Rashtriya Sanskrit University, and Maulana Azad National Urdu University. The number of universities implementing FYUP has increased from 105 to 150.

Within the FYUP framework, the UGC has provided students with the flexibility to pursue either a three-year undergraduate degree or a four-year honors degree, catering to diverse educational preferences.