Chief Secretary Pradeep Kumar Jena Gets Six-Month Extension

Chief Secretary Pradeep Kumar Jena Gets Six-Month Extension

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government today extended the tenure of Chief Secretary Pradeep Kumar Jena by 6 months.Mr. Jena, 1989-batch IAS officer, was scheduled to retire on December 31.

The tenure of Pradeep Kumar Jena has been extended from January 1, 2024 to June 30, 2024, according to a notification issued by General Administration and Public Grievance department.

The tenure has been extended following the approval of Department of Personnel and Training, Ministry of Personnel, Government of India.

A senior IAS officer from the 1989 batch of the Odisha cadre, Jena assumed the role of Chief Secretary on March 1, 2023, succeeding Suresh Chandra Mahapatra. Mahapatra’s tenure concluded with his retirement after receiving two consecutive six-month extensions.

Before taking on the role of Chief Secretary, Pradeep Kumar Jena held significant positions, including Development Commissioner and Additional Chief Secretary. He also served as Secretary in the Planning and Convergence department, with additional responsibilities as Agriculture Production Commissioner, Special Relief Commissioner, and MD of the Odisha State Disaster Management Authority (OSDMA).

In his previous assignments, Jena has contributed to various sectors, including holding the position of Chief Administrator of the Shree Jagannath Temple Administration. Additionally, he served as Secretary in the Rural Development, Water Resources, IT, and Energy departments.