Second Seat: CM Naveen to fight from Kantabanji

Second Seat: CM Naveen to fight from Kantabanji

Bhubaneswar: The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) made a significant move by nominating Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik as their candidate for the Kantabanji Assembly constituency located in the Balangir district. This strategic decision reflects the party’s confidence in Patnaik’s leadership and aims to secure a strong representation for the constituency.

In addition to his candidacy for the Hinjilicut Assembly constituency, Patnaik will now extend his electoral pursuits to the Kantabanji seat, thereby broadening his engagement with the electorate. This dual candidacy underscores the BJD’s commitment to amplifying its presence across diverse regions.

Furthermore, the BJD announced its list of candidates for various assembly constituencies, marking a series of adjustments, particularly in Sambalpur and Rairakhol. Notably, Prasanna Acharya, initially slated for the Sambalpur seat, has been repositioned to contest from Rairakhol. Similarly, Rohit Pujari, originally designated for Rairakhol, has been redirected to vie for the Sambalpur constituency. These strategic swaps reflect the party’s meticulous calibration of its candidate lineup to optimize its electoral prospects and effectively address the unique dynamics of each constituency.

Other BJD nominees are as follows: 

  • Chitrokonda: Laxmipriya Nayak
  • Padampur: Barsha Singh Bariha
  • Kuchinda: Rajendra Chatria
  • Deogarh: Arundhati Devi
  • Angul: Sanjukta Singh
  • Nimapada: Dilip Nayak
  • Sanakhemundi: Geetanjali Devi
  • Jeypore: Indira Nanda