Odisha BJP announces candidates for 112 Assembly segments

Odisha BJP announces candidates for 112 Assembly segments

Bhubaneswar: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) announced its highly-anticipated roster of candidates for 112 Assembly constituencies in Odisha, setting the stage for a fierce electoral battle leading up to the 2024 polls. This initial phase of candidate announcements underscores the party’s strategic intent to establish a formidable presence across the state, with a diverse lineup of seasoned politicians and notable newcomers.

At the forefront of the BJP’s electoral charge stands Manmohan Samal, the Odisha BJP president, who will be contesting from the Chandabali Assembly Constituency. Joining him are stalwart BJP figures such as Suresh Pujari, poised for victory in Brajarajnagar, and Tankadhar Tripathy, ready to engage in the electoral fray in Jharsuguda.

The BJP’s candidate selection reflects a meticulous approach aimed at bolstering its foothold in various constituencies throughout Odisha. Notable nominations include Kusum Tete in Sundargarh, Jayanarayan Mishra in Sambalpur, and Biswaranjan Badajena in Jatani.

The entrance of Akash Dasnayak, transitioning from the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) to the BJP, injects an intriguing dynamic into the electoral landscape. Dasnayak’s candidacy for the Korei Assembly seat adds a layer of interest to the contest. Similarly, the allocation of the ticket to former BJD MP Sidhant Mohapatra for Digapahandi underscores the BJP’s strategic maneuvering.

Fresh blood in the form of Priyadarshi Mishra, who recently joined the BJP, will represent the party in Bhubaneswar North, while established figures like Jagannath Pradhan, Arabinda Dhali, Babu Singh, and Prithiviraj Harichandan are set to vie for victories in their respective constituencies.

In a bold move likely to capture widespread attention, Sisir Mishra will challenge Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik in Hinjili. Moreover, the candidacies of former BJD MP Pratyusha Rajeswari Singh in Nayagarh and Dushmanta Swain in Khandapada underscore the BJP’s determination to expand its influence.

The BJP’s candidate slate also reflects a nod to political legacies, with Upasana Mohapatra, daughter of the late Congress leader Lulu Mohapatra, chosen for Bramhagiri. Additionally, the party has put forth candidates like Ashrit Kumar Pattnayak, Jayanta Kumar Sarangi, Pravati Parida, and Tejeswar Parida, each aiming to make their mark in their respective constituencies.

Furthermore, the BJP has demonstrated its commitment to honoring lineage by nominating Suryabanshi Suraj, son of the late BJP leader Bishnu Sethi, for the Dhamnagar Assembly seat. Other candidates include Padmalochan Panda, Rajendra Das, Gobinda Chandra Das, Manas Kumar Dutta, Braja Pradhan, and Irasis Acharya, all poised to contest fiercely in their designated constituencies.

With this diverse and dynamic array of candidates, the BJP is poised to make significant strides in reshaping Odisha’s political landscape in the forthcoming elections.