Nitish Kumar Govt. In Bihar with two BJP Deputy CMs

Nitish Kumar Govt. In Bihar with two BJP Deputy CMs

Patna: Bihar witnessed a notable political transition on Sunday as Chief Minister Nitish Kumar tendered his resignation to Governor Rajendra Arlekar. The state is poised to have two Deputy Chief Ministers from the BJP – Samrat Chaudhary, the state BJP chief, and Vijay Sinha, the Leader of Opposition in the Bihar assembly.

The decision to establish an NDA government with BJP, JD(U), and other allies was unanimously endorsed during the legislative party meeting, where Samrat Chaudhary was elected as the leader, and Vijay Sinha as the deputy leader. Prior to Kumar’s resignation, the BJP had confirmed its intention to collaborate with JD(U) and other allies to govern the state.

Expressing appreciation, Samrat Chaudhary hailed the BJP’s role as historic and underscored their dedication to Bihar’s development and eradicating the influence of Lalu Yadav. He remarked, “The mandate we received in 2020 for Bihar’s development and to counter the ‘Jungle Raj’ led us to support Nitish Kumar’s proposal.”

The political landscape shifted after Nitish Kumar opted to terminate the ‘Mahagathbandhan’ rule in the state. At the Raj Bhavan, Kumar apprised Governor Arlekar of the decision, marking the culmination of the alliance.

The series of events was initiated by a social media post from Rohini Acharya, daughter of RJD chief Lalu Yadav, critiquing JD(U)’s ideological shifts despite presenting itself as a progressive socialist party.