Ministry of Power’s 25th Technical Coordination Committee (TCC) and 25th North-Eastern Regional Power Committee (NERPC) meeting Convened in Kolkata

Ministry of Power's 25th Technical Coordination Committee (TCC) and 25th North-Eastern Regional Power Committee (NERPC) meeting Convened in Kolkata

Kolkata: The 25th meetings of Technical Coordination Committee (TCC) and the North-Eastern Regional Power Committee (NERPC) under the Ministry of Power, Government of India, took place in Kolkata on December 8th and 9th, 2023, facilitated by NTPC. A notable aspect of the 25th NERPC Meeting was the attendance of Ministers overseeing the Power Department from five North Eastern States, marking a significant participation in this NTPC-organized event.

During the proceedings, Partha Mazumder, RED(ER-II), NTPC, delivered the welcome address, underscoring the crucial role of TCC in addressing NER issues to promote comprehensive growth in the power sector of the region. This aligns with the special focus and initiatives of the Government of India for the development of North Eastern States.

Chaired by Ginko Lingi, Chief Engineer (P), CEZ, DoP, Arunachal Pradesh, and TCC Chairman of NERPC, the 25th TCC meeting saw participation from TCC members representing all constituents of NERPC.

The 25th NERPC Meeting, under the chairmanship of Chowna Mein, Deputy Chief Minister, Arunachal Pradesh, and Chairman of NERPC, was attended by distinguished figures including Nandita Garlosa, Minister Of Power(MoP) ,Assam; AT Mondal, MoP, Meghalaya; KG Kenye, MoP, Nagaland; Ratan Lal Nath, MoP, Tripura; and Balo Raja, MLA and  Advisor to HDCM, Arunachal Pradesh. Additionally, Secretary (Power) representatives from Arunachal, Meghalaya, and Manipur participated in the NERPC meeting.

Jaikumar Srinivasan, Director (Finance), NTPC, highlighted NTPC’s contributions to the power sector and its dedication to the twin goals of energy security and transition. Partha Mazumder, RED(ER-2), and other senior NTPC officials were also present.

The meeting saw the participation of Member Secretaries from NERPC, NRPC, WRPC & ERPC, as well as representatives from POWERGRID, NHPC, NERLDC, NEEPCO, NETC, CTU, NETC, KMTL, OTPC, PTC, CEA, and Government officials from Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Tripura, Mizoram, and Manipur. Various agendas related to power supply, transmission, and distribution systems in the North Eastern states were discussed during the meeting.