CM Naveen Patnaik Lays Foundation For Bhubaneswar Metro Rail Project

CM Naveen Patnaik Lays Foundation For Bhubaneswar Metro Rail Project

Cuttack: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Monday laid the foundation stone for phase one of the much awaited Bhubaneswar Metro Rail Project at Ratagada near Trishulia.

Phase one of the project involves connecting Biju Patnaik International Airport (BPIA) to Trishulia Square with a state-government-funded investment of Rs 6,255 crore. Described as the largest investment ever in Odisha’s infrastructure history, this initiative is a flagship program within the 5T initiative, according to the Chief Minister.

The metro rail project is slated to be completed within four years, providing the state’s residents with the convenience of metro rail services, marking a significant milestone in Odisha’s developmental journey. The project covers a distance of 26 kilometers from Bhubaneswar Airport to Trishulia, featuring 20 stations and reducing travel time between the airport and Trishulia to just 45 minutes.

The metro rail infrastructure comprises elevated viaducts housing tracks and stations, utilizing cutting-edge coaches, a sophisticated signaling system, and an advanced ticketing system. The Bhubaneswar Metro Rail Corporation has entered into a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC), designating DMRC as the turn-key consultant responsible for project execution. The state government is obligated to pay Rs 326.56 crore as a fee to DMRC for its services.

The announcement of the Metro rail project was made by Chief Minister Patnaik on April 1, 2023, coinciding with Utkal Divas. Furthermore, the Chief Minister has directed concerned officials to formulate a master plan for extending the metro rail network to Khordha, Puri, and Cuttack.

List of Metro stations as follows: 

  • Biju Patnaik International Airport (BPIA)
  • Capital Hospital
  • Sishu Bhawan
  • Bapuji Nagar
  • Bhubaneswar Railway Station
  • Ram Mandir Square
  • Vani Vihar
  • Acharya Vihar Square
  • Jaydev Vihar Square
  • Xavier Square
  • Rail Sadan
  • District Centre
  • Damana Square
  • Patia Square
  • KIIT Square
  • Nandan Vihar
  • Raghunathpur
  • Nanadankanan Zoological Park
  • Phulapokhari and Trisulia Square