Site icon Top Post Bharat

106th Indian Economic Association(IEA) Conference Commences At KIIT

106th Indian Economic Association Conference Commences At KIIT

Bhubaneswar: The 106th edition of the Indian Economic Association (IEA) Conference commenced with enlightening insights from distinguished speakers, shedding light on vital economic aspects and the dynamic intersection of technology and policy-making.

As the chief guest during the inaugural session, Dr. Montek Singh Ahluwalia, a renowned economist and Former Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission of India, underscored the resilience of Indian democracy amid conflicting interests. He highlighted the continuity of policies despite changes in governments and delved into the impact of evolving technology. Dr. Ahluwalia emphasized the role of tech giants in influencing decision-making processes and called for impending structural changes to complement technology-led advancements.

Advocating for a balanced policy approach, Dr. Ahluwalia stressed the integration of new technology without stifling innovation. He emphasized the importance of ensuring access to jobs for vulnerable populations and urged economists to reflect on these challenges, fostering diverse perspectives within the Indian Economic Association.

During the event, Dr. Ahluwalia released a special book titled ‘Community Builder for Education, Empowerment, and Enlightenment’ in honor of Dr. Achyuta Samanta, the Founder of KIIT and KISS. Dr. Samanta, also the Patron of the Indian Economic Association, expressed gratitude for hosting the conference at KIIT. He highlighted the meticulous financial management of the institution and recounted the humble beginnings of KIIT and KISS, underscoring their rapid transformation into globally acclaimed entities.

Dr. Biswajit Chatterjee, the President of the Indian Economic Association Conference, provided an exhaustive overview of the Indian economy at the macro level. Other notable speakers included Dr. Tapan Kumar Shandilya, the Association President of the conference, Chief Convenor Dr. Anil Kumar Thakur, Vice President of IEA Dr. A. Jothi Murugan, Vice President IEA Dr. Devendra Awasti, among others.

The Architect of IEA award was bestowed upon the distinguished economist Prof. Vedagiri Shanmugasundaram, while the Best Controller award was given to Dr. Sanjay Kumar, the Registrar of B R A Bihar University. The Gyanchand Academic Excellence Award was presented to Pankaj Kumar, a post-doctoral researcher in the Department of Economics at T M.

Exit mobile version